My Favorite Quote from Educon 2.5

FranklinI had such a wonderful three days at Educon that I thought it would be difficult to pinpoint any one statement or over-arching idea that most resonated. Indeed, every session I went to was thought-provoking, energizing, and an excellent model of how to NOT lecture, but to teach.

If I had to choose one favorite quote, however, it was given by Dr. William Hite, Superintendent of Philadelphia Public Schools and keynote speaker. In other words, it was one of the first things that I heard and it stuck with me throughout the conference. It still resonates with me today and I’m still toying with how to incorporate this into my work:

“Suppose we were evaluated on how smart we make other people in our profession.”

I like this thought because it assumes that our primary job as we learn, no matter what our profession, is to share and to add to the collective understanding and growth of our colleagues. It encourages openness over carefully guarding information, adding to rather than competing against.

Good food for thought.

“An investment in knowledge pays the best interest.” – Benjamin Franklin

 

Leave a Reply

