Habitudes Chapter Summary (Part 4 of 4)

This is the final post in a four-part series as I read Habitudes: Images that Form Leadership Habits and Attitudes. Click here to read the first post in this series, here to read the second, and here to read the third.

Chapter 13: The Encore Effect
The premise of this chapter is to give audiences more than they expect or to surprise them with something as attention is waning. In my work, I try to save a dynamic new tech resource or a lively discussion (e.g. talking about “homework” never gets boring) for after lunch. I know they’ve been busy all morning and now that stomachs are full, attention starts to slip. This is a good time to either introduce something with a “wow” factor, show a great video, or start a lively discussion.

Chapter 14: Seasons
This is an interesting metaphor: to use the idea of “seasons” throughout your presentation. I have often noticed that there is a point in my work when “flow” seems to happen. There is an excited buzz in the room, people understand the research and are excited to start diving into applying it to their work. I have learned to trust that this will happen…I suppose this is my “summer” or even fall “harvest” season. I have learned to patiently wait through the spring period of the presentation as people warm up to the ideas and begin to make connections. I had never thought of these stages as seasons, but I really like the metaphor.

Chapter 15: Golden Hour
This chapter encourages speakers to not robotically go through notes and scripts, but to instead watch the audience (or students) for that “golden hour” when they are ready for the most challenging part of your presentation or when they are most ready to hear the highlight of what you have to say.

Chapter 16: Skinny Chef
This final chapter focused on credibility. When I work with teachers, which I often do, one of the first things I talk about is a brief description of my background as a classroom teacher. I find that the audience first needs to know that I was an educator and that I have classroom and leadership experience before they are willing to listen to what I have to say.

My overall impression of this little booklet is very good. It’s a quick read with memorable messages and pictures. I think one of my first goals as a result of reading the book is to focus on the entertainment factor of our presentations. I think they could use some updating.

My next book for my personal learning goal will be The Learning Edge: What Technology Can Do to Educate All Children by Alan Bain & Mark E. Weston. Stay tuned for summaries & reflections.

2 responses to “Habitudes Chapter Summary (Part 4 of 4)

Leave a Reply

