It’s not you; it’s me…or maybe it’s you…

As with many of you, I maintain a few professional memberships of organizations who focus on certain issues and to whom I look for learning and networking. I have been a member of one in particular since the early 2000s when, as I was getting my Master’s degree, I decided that becoming a member was of paramount importance on my career path. I happily doled out my yearly fees and looked forward to its monthly magazine and yearly conference. By reading its publication, I learned of people, ideas, and tools that I might not have learned about otherwise.

In recent years, however, I find myself disengaged – not with my profession…indeed those conversations seem to be getting richer and more thoughtful as my network expands – but with one organization in particular. I have stopped going to its annual conference, finding it more focused on pens, prizes, and over-populated lecture halls than about improving pedagogy.

I scan the periodical and only occasionally find anything that I think helps teachers who are working to meet the needs of their learners. Wanting to contribute (and not just complain), I submitted an article last year to its publication that looked at digital learning through the lens of research-based instructional strategies, thinking of teachers more as instructional designers than providers of information. The feedback from the editor was dismissive at best:

“…this felt a bit to me like dressing up old ideas in new vocabulary, rather than presenting truly new ideas.”

Ouch.

I recently received an email reminding me that my annual membership was about to expire. I have to ask myself: what am I getting out of this relationship? These days, I find that I learn more through Twitter feeds, blogs, and smaller, more intimate gatherings (e.g. salons, local or state conferences) than I do through its publication, special interest groups, or conference. Has it gotten too big? Or has my learning style simply shifted so much that glossy periodicals and over-stimulating conferences don’t engage me anymore?

Is anyone else dealing with this?

2 responses to “It’s not you; it’s me…or maybe it’s you…

  • Carol Birnbaum

    I’m pretty sure I never read a single one of the periodicals I received in the past year. I just haven’t had time, and have also found I find more applicable information on twitter or from blogs I follow. When I go to conferences, most of the sessions I attend leave me saying to myself “I could have done that same presentation”.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,378 other followers

